May Social Media Content For Libraries

Posted by Duncan Whitmire on 5/1/15 10:36 AM

Customer Success, Social Media, Topic Pages, Uncategorized

We understand your library wants to post fun content to social media but that you might not have the time to dedicate to writing it, so we’d like to help!

Below you will find daily posts, all under Twitter’s 140 character limit (good for Facebook too), that you can copy/paste at your leisure, each linking to a Topic Page, which, for Credo Online Reference Services or Literati subscribers can be a gateway to all kinds of e-resources.

This content is free for the taking, no character-eating attribution to us necessary!

PS: The images below are all in the public domain, with attributions at the bottom of the page.

Friday 1 May Mary had a TopicPage
Its facts were true & right
And every year on Mother Goose Day
Its info she would cite: http://bit.ly/1Ky7u3a
 Penny-Farthing_Bicycle_Rider (1)
Monday 4 May May the Fourth be with you. Happy Star Wars Day! http://bit.ly/1EGH7aB
Tuesday 5 May Happy Cinco de Mayo! A virtual margarita for anyone who knows what this holiday celebrates! http://bit.ly/1HVA0fx
Wednesday 6 May It's National Bike Month! Also: National tuck one pant leg into your sock month! http://bit.ly/1GLcuDh
Thursday 7 May Cosmic Microwave Background Radiation is 1 way we know the universe & how we study it are getting cooler every day http://bit.ly/1bZyuxj
Friday 8 May Xylem not only conducts water & nutrients around a plant, it also scores a pile of points in WordsWithFriends http://bit.ly/1zhMzjM
 Lewis_and_Clark,_side_by_side (1)
Monday 11 May Tales of scandal abound on the Zoë Topic Page. This Byzantine figure killed an emperor & was attacked by a Pope http://bit.ly/1AmHAcQ
Tuesday 12 May One in a series of inevitable strategic victories of machines over humans, this day in 1997 Deep Blue beat Kasparov http://bit.ly/1zviuxq
Wednesday 13 May One can get Spirited Away reading up on the world's preeminent animator Hayao Miyazaki http://bit.ly/1dyjQ0z
Thursday 14 May This day in 1804, Lewis and Clark departed on one of history's greatest roadtrips: http://bit.ly/1zhMQmM
Friday 15 May Happy National Chocolate Chip Day! http://bit.ly/1dyjSoY
 
Monday 18 May The Bronze Age is easily one of our top 3 favorite ages to study http://bit.ly/1FAYmLl
Tuesday 19 May This day in 1588 a highly flammable Spanish Armada set sail from Lisbon http://bit.ly/1zvj5zj
Wednesday 20 May The artichoke may be a small vegetable, but it's got a big heart http://bit.ly/1Ky7YXe
Thursday 21 May Quinoa has recently come into a level of popularity it hasn't known since its days feeding the Incan Empire http://bit.ly/1GJYNlh
Friday 22 May Party on Baker Street! Sherlock's creator celebrates a birthday today! http://bit.ly/1zMRIiC
 
Monday 25 May Happy Memorial Day! http://bit.ly/1EwxfyQ
Tuesday 26 May Selling almost too many copies to... count, Dracula went on sale this day 1897 http://bit.ly/1JEtBr6
Wednesday 27 May Jupiter's moon, Io, has more volcanoes than a middle school science fair. http://bit.ly/1It6lLe
Thursday 28 May Knights have been around since antiquity, although how they got anywhere moving in that L-shape we have no idea http://bit.ly/1bZAky4
Friday 29 May Happy Birthday JFK! (The president, not the airport) http://bit.ly/1It6vC8

Image:

Penny-Farthing Bicycle Rider.png, By Unknown artist [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons, http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Penny-Farthing_Bicycle_Rider.png

Lewis and Clark, side by side.jpg, Charles Willson Peale [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons, http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Lewis_and_Clark,_side_by_side.jpg

Chocolate chip cookies (2).jpg, By Anna Langova [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons, http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Chocolate_chip_cookies_(2).jpg

Artichokes.jpg, Public domain in the United States because it is a work prepared by an officer or employee of the United States Government as part of that person’s official duties under the terms of Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 105 of the US Code. http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Artichokes.jpg